Graduate Mentor of the Year Award

The Outstanding Graduate Mentor of the Year is a lifetime achievement award that recognizes faculty who have, over their years at USU, a record of excellence and who have significant accomplishments in graduate student mentorship.

Nominees are effective advisors who facilitate degree completion, model sound scholarship and ethical behavior, provide emotional support, extend constructive criticism, involve students in publishing and other professional activities, and prepare students for their careers after they have completed their degrees.

This award is presented at the Faculty Awards Ceremony each spring.

Rose Qingyang Hu, recipient of the 2022 USU Outstanding Graduate Mentor of the Year Award

Rose Qingyang Hu is a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and also serves as an associate dean in the College of Engineering. Hu’s research interests include next-generation wireless system design and optimization, Internet of Things, cyber physical systems, and artificial intelligence in wireless networks. She also directs the Communications Network Innovation Lab.

Since joining USU in 2017, she has advised seven postdoctoral researchers, eight PhD students, 10 visiting PhD student, and six masters students. She has published three books, four book chapters, 135 journal articles, 150 refereed conference papers, and holds 30 patents. She was faculty researcher of the year of ECE Department in 2014 and 2016 and was faculty researcher of the year in the College of Engineering in 2014.

Rose Hu is an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) fellow, IEEE Communications Society distinguished lecturer, IEEE Vehicular Technology Society distinguished lecturer, and NIST Communication Technology Laboratory Innovator 2020. She is currently serving as associate editor-in-chief of IEEE Communications Magazine and associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, and IEEE Wireless Communication. Together with her students, her work received prestigious Best Paper Awards from the IEEE GLOBECOM 2012, the IEEE ICC 2015, the IEEE VTC Spring 2016, and the IEEE ICC 2016.

2022 College Graduate Mentors of the Year